Education Pioneers Announces $15,000 in Alumni Awards for Transformational Leaders in Education


Contact for Education Pioneers:
Kirsten Searer
Senior Director of Communications


Education Pioneers Announces $15,000 in Alumni Awards for Transformational Education Leaders

During a national conference this November, national nonprofit to name alumni leaders who demonstrate most remarkable impact on improving equity and opportunity for all students


OAKLAND, Calif. – Education Pioneers, a national nonprofit that places skilled professionals in critical, non-instructional leadership positions throughout K-12 public education, announced today the 2016 EPic Alumni and the Scott Morgan Award, which will include $15,000 total in prizes.

One alumna/us who demonstrates the most remarkable change for underserved students will receive the Scott Morgan Award and a $10,000 prize, and two runners-up will receive $2,500 each. The winners will be announced at Education Pioneers’ national conference November 15-16, 2016 in San Francisco, CA.

More than 3,000 leaders have completed the Education Pioneers Fellowship, where they worked with school districts, charter schools and other organizations that support public education to help solve problems from outside of the classroom so students and teachers succeed in the classroom.

“Leaders in education can make change for underserved students. Across the education sector, change is happening through innovation, ‘intrapreneurship,’ entrepreneurship, community advocacy and empowerment, and more,” said Gianna Shepard Bruno, Director of Career Advancement for Education Pioneers and a Fellowship alumna.

“Through the EPic Alumni and Scott Morgan Award, we want to recognize and support Education Pioneers Alumni who are making a marked difference in creating an equitable education system for all students,” she said.

All Education Pioneers alumni currently working in public education at any level are eligible to be considered for the EPic Alumni and the Scott Morgan Award. The Scott Morgan Award was created by Education Pioneers’ board of directors in 2013 in honor of the organization’s 10-year anniversary and the organization’s Founder and CEO, Scott Morgan.

In addition to assessing alumni applicants’ work and impact on underserved students, Education Pioneers will also assess how applicants work, including how they reflect Education Pioneers’ core values: courage; optimism; collaboration; action; and diversity, equity and inclusion.

From all alumni applicants, Education Pioneers will select approximately 20 top candidates for public review and voting in August. After public review and voting closes, 10 “EPic Alumni” semifinalists will be chosen, from which three finalists will be named for the Scott Morgan Award and $15,000 total in prizes.

The winners will be awarded the monetary prizes to use for their own professional development to achieve their goals.

Education Pioneers will announce the winner of the Scott Morgan Award and the runners-up on November 16, 2016 at their 2016 National Conference: Leadership, Innovation, Progress in San Francisco, CA.

For more information about EPic Alumni and the Scott Morgan Award, visit:


About Education Pioneers

Since 2003, Education Pioneers has recruited our nation’s most extraordinary people to enter into education leadership and help transform our schools. Education Pioneers has recruited and trained more than 3,000 leaders in partnership with more than 200 education organizations in 20 cities nationwide.

Of the organization’s alumni in the workforce, more than 70 percent serve in education and lead or contribute to work that impacts more than 3.5 million public school students – most of whom are students of color and come from underserved areas. Find out more about where Education Pioneers’ leaders work and their impact here:

More information about Education Pioneers can be found at



Join the Conversation

Commenting Policy

Education Pioneers does not discriminate against any views but reserves the right to remove or not post comments that are off-topic or contain obscene language, threats, or defamatory statements.